with thanks to our sponsors

Wares Awards 2017 photos

Announcing the year's highest achievers - the winners of the 2017 Wares Awards!

The Wares Awards celebrate excellence in retail and supply in New Zealand’s appliance and consumer electronics industry.

The 2017 Awards were held on Thursday 9th November at Shed 10 on Auckland's waterfront, with Scotty "Sumo" Stevenson the MC.

Thank you to all our guests, the sponsors, Finalists and Award Winners – you’re all rock stars!

Check out our 2017 highlights video of the industry event of the year:

Retailer of the Year 

2017's Retailer of the Year is:

Alan Dunnett – Heathcote Appliances, The Base, Hamilton

“When asked for the secret of his success, Alan Dunnett, this year’s Retailer of the Year, puts the win down to the great team he has working behind him in the award-winning store every step of the way.

“They really make me the person I am. They keep pushing me to succeed and to make this the best store out there in the country and that’s really what keeps driving me.”

Alan was “pleasantly surprised” by the win and had a “brilliant night” at the Awards ceremony.

As for the future, Alan will continue as the Area Manager for the Waikato stores and hopes for some major developments in the coming year.

“We’ll just have to wait and see what happens but for now we are just going to get through Christmas and New Year’s then go from there.”

The 2017 Retailer of the Year Finalists were:

  • Alan Dunnett – Heathcote Appliances, The Base, Hamilton
  • Bruce Twidle  – Waiheke Living (Applianceplus)
  • Ian Walker – Folders Kaitaia (1OO% Appliances)


Young Retailer of the Year

2017's Young Retailer of the Year is:

Mark Heginbotham – 1OO% Newbolds Masterton

Reflecting on his win, this year’s Young Retailer, Mark Heginbotham, stressed the continued importance of the awards process and ceremony night.

“I think that, apart from your financial statements at the end of the year, this award is probably the best accolade you can get in our game so I’m absolutely stoked to take the win.

"And it’s always great to see all my friends in the industry and celebrate our successes over a few beers as well.”

Mark feels that the experience he now has under his belt was the big reason he took home the top honour.

“I’ve had a bit more time in my role now and I feel like I’ve finished my apprenticeship and I’m coming into my prime,” Mark says.

The 2017 Young Retailer of the Year Finalists were:

  • Ainslie Davies – 1OO% Barrell's Albany Extreme Appliances
  • Mark Heginbotham – 1OO% Newbolds Masterton
  • Winston Lim – 1OO% Lim Electronics


2017's Young Achiever is:

Ainslie Davies – 1OO% Barrell's Albany Extreme Appliances

One to watch in future is this year’s Young Achiever, Ainslie Davies, who admits that the award came as a major surprise on the night, albeit a happy one.

“It’s been a great experience and an absolute privilege to be able to go through the awards process and to know that my hard work has been recognised. And really it’s such an honour just to get the nomination.”

Since Ainslie received his award, the Albany store has experienced one of its biggest sale weekends of the year.

Ainslie is hoping to keep this success going and looking forward to getting more hands-on with the business in future.


Sales Professional of the Year

2017's Sales Professional of the Year is:

Jonathan Hynds – Samsung Electronics

Jonathan Hynds, 2017’s Sales Professional of the Year, “honestly doesn’t know” how he managed to take home the top honour in this category this year but, when pressed, thinks the relationships he has built up with his customers almost certainly made all the difference.

“It all comes down to key customers really and the relationship I have with them really shone through I think and to know they spoke highly of me is a real honour.”

Reflecting on the awards process and the gala dinner, Jonathan thought it was “an awesome experience.”

“It was a great night, very social with an excellent location and everyone at our table had a terrific time.”

Jonathan is very happy with his current role but we can surely expect to hear more from him in future.

The 2017 Sales Professional of the Year Finalists were:

  • Aaron Hooson – Fisher & Paykel
  • Jonathan Hynds – Samsung Electronics
  • Malcolm Pilkington – BSH Home Appliances
  • David Tan – Nescafé Dolce Gusto


Retail Store of the Year

Retail Store of the Year - over 400m2 of showroom area

Winner: Harvey Norman Wairau Park

The Finalists were:

  • Harvey Norman Mt Wellington
  • Harvey Norman Wairau Park
  • Heathcote Appliances The Base
  • Noel Leeming Moorhouse Avenue


Retail Store of the Year - up to 400m2 of showroom area

Winner: Heathcote Appliances Morrinsville

The Finalists were:

  • 1OO% Newbolds Masterton
  • Central Applianceplus
  • Heathcote Appliances Morrinsville
  • Noel Leeming Lyall Bay


Specialty Store of the Year

Winner: Noel Leeming Built-in Cooking Centre Napier

The Finalists were:

  • Farmers Moorhouse
  • Noel Leeming Built-in Cooking Centre Napier
  • Noel Leeming Built-in Cooking Centre Rotorua


Supplier of the Year

Consumer Electronics Accessories

Winner: Pudney & Lee

The Finalists were:

  • BluLink
  • Direct Imports
  • Pudney & Lee


Digital Imaging

Winner: Canon

The Finalists were:

  • Canon
  • NIKON by Lacklands LLP
  • Panasonic



Winner: Electrolux

The Finalists were:

  • Avery Robinson
  • Electrolux Home Care & Small Domestic Appliances
  • Miele
  • Nilfisk


Heating & Cooling

Winner: Black Diamond Technologies (Mitsubishi Electric)

The Finalists were:

  • Avery Robinson (Dyson)
  • Black Diamond Technologies (Mitsubishi Electric)
  • Fujitsu General
  • Panasonic


Home Entertainment

Winner: Panasonic

The Finalists were:

  • LG Electronics
  • Panasonic
  • Samsung


Information Technology & Computers

Winner: Brother

The Finalists were:

  • Brother
  • HP New Zealand
  • Vodafone


Large Appliances

Winner: Fisher & Paykel

The Finalists were:

  • BSH
  • Electrolux Home Products
  • Fisher & Paykel


Portable Appliances

Winner: Breville

The Finalists were:

  • Breville
  • De'Longhi
  • Sunbeam